A Little Light
A Little Light Podcast
Hello March
1
0:00
-3:50

Hello March

A signal of hope
1

Hello!

The first day of spring is twenty-one days away. Though the start of spring doesn't mean the temperature becomes instantly warmer, it is something to look forward to. It's a signal of hope, showing the darkest days are behind us. It only gets brighter from here. The weather has given us a glance at what is to come, with a warm 68-degree day. Yet, cold rain and snow flurries shortly followed. I'm looking forward to the days when the cherry blossoms open their pink and white flowers and color the streets. There is much joy in the air as the sun breaks the cold. The waterfront trail, packed with runners, walkers, bikers, outdoor yoga, casual dates, and families with dogs, is given a new life that extends throughout the summer. The barren landscape, which seems almost lifeless, transforms into vibrant colors, just waiting for the right environment to grow. I'm looking forward to the days lingering a bit longer, leaving more room for activity.

This month I'm looking forward to the progression of brighter and slightly warmer days (if you couldn't tell). January and February were exciting months, and I wasn't necessarily focused on showing up consistently here (and that's okay). Now, I want to focus on creating systems that work for me right now, which have changed from the last time I thought about them at the beginning of the year. 

The systems I'm putting in place:

  1. Google Calendar!

    For the most part, I've planned my weekends through May. It gives me peace of mind knowing what's coming up, allowing ease to plan around it. 

  2. Weekly planning for work  

    Recently, I've found it helps to start with a large running list. Then, I’ll narrow it down to the items I'd like to accomplish by the end of the week. If there are any time-sensitive items, those will have a note with a day next to them. I struggle with feeling unproductive, which is usually a product of a lack of direction. But, with a list, I'm focused and have a record of my work.  

  3. Using work from home Fridays :)

    Fridays are the day to tidy up in my free moments. When I can pick up in small doses, I prevent the weekend from being a chore. I want effortless weekends, which means I have to do more throughout the week. 

  4.  Maximizing my evenings with one task

    Similarly to #2, I can choose one day or two a week to focus on a task on my personal list when I get home from work. I'll add that to my google calendar to get a reminder of what I'll be working on. Consistency is key, so I'd like to try my hardest to keep the tasks the same week by week. i.e., Wednesday is a writing day.

  5. Readjusting my mornings

    On January 1st, I was determined to wake up a 6 am and have an active morning routine. It was a bit ambitious for me, and I struggled to reach that goal. I'm scaling it back to a later start, with a smaller goal of just 15 mins of devotion or journaling before getting the day started. The goal of having an unrushed start to my day remains from the new year. 

What are you looking forward to? Is there a small dose of hope in the near or far future? Having something to look forward to is a good reminder that we are moving forward. Are you aligned with the systems you've put in place, or is it time to change? We don't want to go against the grain, creating unnecessary difficulty. 

Have a great week!

1 Comment
A Little Light
A Little Light Podcast
A Little Light brings a dose of encouragement to your week. Join Lauren as she journeys through the highs and lows of life. Every week she provides practical ways to become our best selves while giving grace and patience as we learn. This is where faith, productivity, and self-reflection meet. Let's grow together.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Lauren Jessica